And So I Go: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Urgent message from the Manhattan Project for those who might want to read it.

Posted on: July 2, 2010

Manhattan Declaration
July 2, 2010
Manhattan Declaration
Urgent Alert
Dear Friends:

This is an urgent alert.

You need to know about what may be one of the gravest, most insidious threats to religious freedom I’ve seen in my lifetime: What may be an attempt, at the very highest levels of government, to RE-DEFINE the very meaning of religious freedom, from “free exercise” to merely private worship.

If what Secretary of State Hillary Clinton said in a speech at Georgetown University reflects a new direction in government policy, then mark my words, our religious liberties are in peril.

Please, click on the link below to see my “Two Minute Warning” video commentary at the Manhattan Declaration website to see exactly what I’m talking about.

Study carefully the play on words; words matter.

I urge you: Watch this video, share it with friends. Blog about it. Write a letter to the editor of your newspaper – point out what is going on. It’s time to expose this outrageous and dangerous assault on religious freedom.

We cannot be asleep at our posts while we still have the freedom to speak out.

Chuck Colson

2 Responses to "Urgent message from the Manhattan Project for those who might want to read it."

Out of curiosity, should any group which characterizes itself as a religion, including those outside of the mainstream and which might be considered cults by some, be allowed to pursue the free exercise of that religion?

How do we decide which ones are legit, versus those which might be considered to be pretenders? What proof do we demand? How many adherents or devoted followers are required to meet a standard of legitimacy?

How long should a religion be practiced before it can be called legitimate? Could an individual start his or her own religion today and immediately gain legitimacy from the public at large, and freely exercise that religion?

“should any group which characterizes itself as a religion, including those outside of the mainstream and which might be considered cults by some, be allowed to pursue the free exercise of that religion?”
That is my understanding of what the Constitution guarantees and certainly what I believe. With two exception: They practice their religion and not interfere with mine, and they refrain from practicing politics thru their religious groups or cult. In other words they render unto God that which is God’s and leave Caesar’s affairs alone. Individual members may very well be active in worldly affairs (government/politics) which controls the actions of the entire group, but not thru their religion. Although their involvement in worldly affairs with different groups may very well stem from their religious beliefs. Example: abortion rights.

“How do we decide which ones are legit, versus those which might be considered to be pretenders? What proof do we demand? How many adherents or devoted followers are required to meet a standard of legitimacy?”
I don’t think it is anyone’s responsibility or right to determine the “legitimacy” of the religion (belief system) of another., and that especially means the Government/politics! As far as I know my religion is a one man show, but it is none-the-less my religion in that is it how I relate to the Creator of all, and these beliefs set my morality and standards, but for myself only. I have the right to believe and even voice my opinions of others actions based on my moral standards. I even have the right to tell them of my beliefs and try to convert their views, BUT I have no right to demand they adhere to my moral standards. And that is even if their moral standards are evil and harmful to others. As a religion I can only point out the evil and harmfulness I can not do anything about changing the behavior of another. That is the domaine of Caesar(government/politics)

I have the right to begin teaching or telling others of my own beliefs and forming a group of believers if I want with a building and collecting tithes and all the tax breaks and other benefits the state offers religions. Again: my group MUST adhere to the conditions set above in order to be religion. If I and my followers become actively involved in worldly affairs (government/politics) then our group is no longer a religion but has become something else. The defining word here is ACTIVELY. I can believe, preach and even argue that something is wrong. I may not as a religion indulge in activities meant to force others to accept my views and remain a religion.

“How long should a religion be practiced before it can be called legitimate? Could an individual start his or her own religion today and immediately gain legitimacy from the public at large, and freely exercise that religion?”
I believe I have answered this part. BB

Leave a Reply

See topic cloud at bottom of page for specific topics.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

BB’s file cabinet

