And So I Go: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

The Wooden Bowl

Posted on: April 5, 2011

This is from my friend Fred.  I simply had to pass it on to you.  I am now older and alone.  I am in very good health as far as my “innars” go,   but due to scoliosis and  arthritis my skeleton continues to deteriorate making walking very difficult sometimes.   My children are in Tampa and Seattle and have their own lives.  I find myself having to rely on friends when I need help.  THANK GOD I have wonderful friends.  Sometimes at night when I  am able to finally lie down and rest for another day I think of all that has been done by friends to help me these past months and  I wonder what I did to deserve so much. BB
This is a good lesson everyone should learn!!!  Remember we are are going to get older and more feeble as the years go by…Be as kind to others as you hope you will be treated when you are in their place….
Enjoy!!

The  Wooden Bowl 

I guarantee you will  remember the tale of the Wooden Bowl tomorrow, a  week from now, a month from now,
a year from  now.

A  frail old man went to live with his son,  daughter-in-law, and  four-year
old  grandson.
The  old man’s hands trembled, his eyesight was  blurred,
and his step faltered

The  family ate together at the table. But the  elderly grandfather’s shaky hands  and
failing  sight made eating difficult.

Peas rolled off his  spoon onto the floor.
When  he grasped the glass, milk spilled on the  tablecloth.

The son and daughter-in-law  became irritated with the mess.
‘We must do  something about father,’ said the  son.

‘I’ve  had enough of his spilled milk, noisy eating,  and food on the floor.’

So the husband  and wife set a small table in the  corner.
There,  Grandfather ate alone while the rest of the  family enjoyed dinner.
Since  Grandfather had broken a dish or two, his food  was served in a wooden bowl.

When the  family glanced in Grandfather’s direction,  sometimes he had a tear in his eye as he sat  alone.
Still,  the only words the couple had for him were sharp  admonitions when he dropped a fork or spilled  food.

The four-year-old watched it all  in silence.

One  evening before supper, the father noticed his  son playing with wood scraps on the  floor.

He  asked the child sweetly, ‘What are you making?’

Just as sweetly, the boy  responded,
‘Oh,  I am making a little bowl for you and Mama to  eat your food in when I grow up.
‘ The  four-year-old smiled and went back to work..

The words so struck the parents so that  they were speechless. Then tears started to  stream down their cheeks. Though no word was  spoken, both knew what must be done.

That evening the husband took  Grandfather’s hand and gently led him back to  the family table.
For  the remainder of his days he ate every meal with  the family. And for some reason,
neither  husband nor wife seemed to care any longer when  a fork was dropped, milk spilled, or the  tablecloth soiled.

On a positive note,  I’ve learned that, no matter what happens, how  bad it seems today, life does go on,

and it will  be better tomorrow.

I’m learning that  you can tell a lot about a person by the way  he/she handles four things:
a  rainy day, the elderly, lost luggage,

and  tangled Christmas tree lights.

I’m learning that making a ‘living’ is not the same  thing

as making a ‘life..’

I’m learning that life sometimes gives you a second chance.

I’m learning that you shouldn’t go  through life with a catcher’s mitt on both  hands. You need to be able to  throw something back sometimes.

I’m learning that if you pursue happiness, it will  elude you.
But,  if you focus on your family, your friends,

the  needs of others, your  work

and doing the very best you can,

happiness  will find you.

I’m learning that whenever  I decide something with an open heart, I usually  make the right decision.

I’m learning that even when I have pains,

I don’t have to be  one.

I’m learning that every day, I should reach out and touch someone.

People love that human touch — holding  hands, a warm hug, or just a friendly pat on the  back.

I’m learning that I still have a  lot to learn.

I’ve decided to pass this on to everyone I care about

because I  found it believable
Angels  have walked beside me all my life–and they  still do ..

1 Response to "The Wooden Bowl"

Hi, simply put this was awesome, thank you for sharing it, I printed and will read tonight to our bible study group. Thank you again.🙂

Leave a Reply

See topic cloud at bottom of page for specific topics.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other followers

BB’s file cabinet

